September 23, 2004

  • As I packed my bags to head back to LA, I decided to take one last walk down Robson Street in Vancouver just to reflect and soak up everything with “Tru Calling” and all.


    A few minutes later, a tall white guy stops me and asks, “Hey, were you in a movie?”  I smile and nod.  And before I could pull out BD Wong’s photo, he said, “I rented ‘Better Luck Tomorrow’ one night for the Firehouse and all the fellas loved it.”  Then he called over 5 other fellow Fire Fighters for me to meet.  They were all from SF on vacation.  We took some pictures, talked for a bit and they kept referring to one of the Asian Fire Fighters as ‘Virgil’.  It was cool to see how the film excited them and I really needed something like that to recharge me for the audition battlefields of LA coming up.



    Oh yeah.  I shot this so long ago, I almost forgot.  I have a small part in “First Daughter” which comes out in theaters tomorrow, Sept 24. 


    I may or may not still be in the final cut as I have yet to see it.  Director, Forest Whitaker has yet to notify me if I was cut out.  But then again, Adrien Brody found out his lead role was entirely removed from “The Thin Red Line” when he went to the premiere. 


    Anyway, Katie plays the President’s  (Michael Keaton) daughter.  She’s off to college for the first time and wants to be her own person without the confines of Secret Service protection, etc.  I play a classmate who has conflicting political views from her father.  My role was to stage a rally for the opposing candidate and goad Katie into debating me. 


    So check it out but remember that I’m in the film above and NOT in the one below!



     


    Also, the next few entries will be a comprehensive 3-parter that I’ve entitled: “Acting Skool“.  So if you know anyone that would benefit from a personal home correspondence acting lesson — guide them over this way beginning Saturday, Sept 25!  10 AM Pacific Standard time!  Bring a #2 pencil! 

Comments (27)

  • i’m the first one… yeah… hopefully you made the cut.

  • atleast you werent mistaken =D i like how you use your xanga/time to tell us about the business…cool beans

  • what was working with katie holmes like???

  • Will you be grading on the curve?

  • i’m STILL promoting BLT to my friends… good luck with your audition and i will definately be looking for you in first daugther. keep your head up! you have a lot of fans/supporters

  • hehe someone finally got it right this time, eh? Hmmm, wish I could’ve worked with Katie Holmes :)

  • I’m glad to see that you were finally recognized as… yourself!   I enjoy your work, and hope to see you in many more productions (I’ve even seen “The Deviants”)!!!

  • I can’t wait to see The First Daughter!  I’ll keep an eye out for you in the movie :)

  • DUde, u were filming that when I was still in skewl.

    Parry. Hopefully all is well with you.

  • hmmmmm  i think immma go see that movie

  • oh yahh i remember u were tellin us about that movie wit katie holmes during ure workshop…. when u coming back to buffalo or CMU?!??!?!

  • The Violent One here: Yeay Acting Skool! LOL. Actually, I’m applying to grad school (MFA in acting) for 2005… we’ll see what happens. Looking forward to Sept. 25. oh, and i was able to be an extra in “Fever Pitch” filming in Boston. Hope the industry is coming back here…

  • Cool points for working with Katie Holmes (reference the conversation between the Jewish kids in Harold and Kumar).

  • finally! someone recognized you…for you!

  • YAY !!  They recognized Parry !!  You never know if some other Asian American actor or B.D. Wong is carrying your pic in his wallet !!

    Gonna see First Daughter sometime in the next week….looking forward to seeing you in it.  Katie Holmes is cute.

  • cool beans!…it’s nice to know SF isn’t burning down and the firefighters get an chance to enjoy a movie =)

    and it’s Adrien Brody…

  • Awesome!  I really want to see First Daughter… Katie Holmes is really talented.  I saw that she got started at IMTA, one of those talent conventions. Is it worth the money to go to one of those?

  • yeah! SAN FRANCISCO KNOWS THEIR ASIAN ACTORS! HAHA ok… yes.. excited… but whatever… hope you can come back to SF one of these days…

  • haha….did you just change it?

  • heyyy!
    I met you at Boston Univ when you were promotin Better Luck Tomorrow.
    I still have the poster w. your autograph :]
    neways, just stoppin by
    wow- everyone is on xanga. CRAZY

  • I love Robson Street!  I would’ve recognized you and instead of “tall white guy” you would’ve written “shot asian girl” =P  Good luck with your future endeavours!!  I will always love BLT!

  • Yo Perry… Everytime I read your Xanga, you keep talkin’ about BLT.. Nothing wrong with it, but you gots to move on and get a bigger role… Theres nothing wrong with living your past glory, but your fame and talent doesnt stop with that movie.. I know Asian American actors, namely males have it hard for leading roles in major Hollywood films; maybe you’re trying hard to get a larger role right now, but on the real, don’t stop what you’re doing, and as a matter of fact, aim higher…  You’re too talented to be in these 2 bit roles.

  • About your comment of Tru Calling being canceled.. yea, it makes me motivated that maybe I am doing the right thing with staying in my routine, regular life going to school, and then eventually to my 9-5 work.. ~_^

  • Hey Parry–I saw the cast/crew screening of FIRST DAUGHTER at the Fox lot last night (why weren’t you there??), and you are still in it. And the NY Times review called you a “cute guy.”

    Forest’s shooting a movie in Iceland, so he’s kind of hard to get a hold of–!

  • too bad the actual movie wasn’t so well-reviewed…http://movies2.nytimes.com/2004/09/24/movies/24FIRS.html

  • haha, that’s funny. before i finished reading your entry, i was thinking to myself “this movie sounds like Chasing Liberty”

    i did notice the commericals for “First Daughter” and i would watch it closely hoping to catch a glimps of you. Hasn’t happened yet. Hopefully you are in the final cut of this, then i’ll go catch it. (not much of a Katie Holmes fan. but with you in it, i’ll go see her.)

  • “Acting Skool”!  Sweet. :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *