August 27, 2005

  • Know When to Fold ‘Em


    Well after 5 weeks of relaxing, I’m back in the saddle again about to start a role on “Without A Trace” next week.  It’s a well written character playing the fiance of the episode’s missing girl and I have a good scene with Anthony LaPaglia.


    I’ve had the luxury of being able to “pass” on a few projects in between “The Gene Generation” up until now — but only because I’ve been working fairly consistently lately and don’t desperately need the dough; otherwise it might be a different story.  


    One role was a gangster for a TV show.  A part of me just didn’t want to portray yet another Evil Asian ”Outsider” but the other part of me just knew that I was not the “gangsta type”. 


    I’d simply look asinine trying to pull off lines like, “This ain’t fair, yo!” (an actual line, btw).  I know, I know, there’s something to be said for “stretching out” but not for something like this.  It was a straight up, conventional, obligatory “Chinatown Gang” episode.


    Another was for a role on a new sitcom for the UPN.  I knew where the jokes were intended to be, but the lines just weren’t funny… at all.


    I kept trying to work on the lines but to no avail.  I figured if I can’t laugh at these lines, how am I supposed to make someone else laugh at them?


    But this screening process all started a few years ago when a director wanted to meet me for the musical, “Pacific Overtures” that he was putting up on Broadway. 


    I kept telling my agent, “I can sing and hold a tune, but I’m not a singer.”  But my agent insisted that since they specifically requested for me (the director must’ve been a “BLT” fan), it would be prudent to accept the appointment.   I was even informed by the casting director that I could just sing “Happy Birthday” if I wanted to.  “Okey-dokey, that’s what I’ll do,” I thought.


    So I went to the audition.  Signed in and sat down.  Then lo and behold, I hear these powerful singing voices just BLASTING through the walls.  I’m talking about being able to actually feel the vibrations from their voices hitting me square in the chest –  through the wall!  I felt totally out of my element, probably like a reality star at an acting audition.  


    When it was my turn to audition, I entered the room and faced a panel of 5 people behind a table and a piano, ala “American Idol” style.  The piano player asked, “Do you have your sheet music?” 


    “Huh?”, I thought.  “Um, I’m singing Happy Birthday, ” I replied.  I was then instructed to sing and the piano player would follow in my key.


    Halfway through the song, I realized, “Who should I sing Happy Birthday to when ‘Happy Birthday, dear… (fill in name here)’… comes along?”  So after directing the birthday wish to the casting director, I was asked to sing it again in the key of  ”G”.


    “Huh?” 


    Total disaster.  Any respect for my performance in “BLT“ from this director was now long gone.


    So in short, what I garnered from that experience was:  If the material doesn’t speak to/or connect with you — don’t go in.  It’s better to not been seen at all than to be seen badly.  You don’t have to go in for everything… advice I should’ve heeded a few months ago before auditioning for FOX’s “Kitchen Confidential” and looking like an idiot in front of Darren Star (“90210“, “Melrose Place” and “Sex and the City“) — but that’s a story for another day.   

Comments (28)

  • well that director should’ve realized: good acting a singer doth not make.

  • Heh, the birthday thing just cracked me up.

  • I blame that Pacific Overtures incident on bad management. Your agent should have known not to send you in despite the director’s enthusiasm. On one side, it’s important to have representation that is pushing you out there and pushing you to go for things even when you aren’t sure, but they also have to be careful for exactly the reason you stated. It made you look bad. Having been on the other side of the table, I really hate when actors try to force their square selves into my round hole. If it was a sit down one on one with the director because he liked you so much in BLT, that would have been a different story. But going into a casting call, that is bad. If anything, your management should have told them you can meet but not in that setting. See if it’s a match in terms of vision first, then see if you can carry a tune enough to be worked with. It sounds like you’ve learned your limitations though, so I think you are in good hands (your own).

  • dude, damn, when I auditioned to get into my theatre department in college, I had to sing Happy Birthday also (since I’m NOT a singer and didn’t have anything prepared).

    when it was time for me to sing the name part, I totally blanked and embarrasingly said to the, “ummm, I forgot the words”.

    Great minds flub alike…

  • i love Without a Trace! can’t wait! lalalala

  • ooooh…good luck with the role on Without A Trace!!

    chinatown gang?….are you hatin on my ‘hood?

  • ha ha.  what key DID you sing it in?

  • not seriously i auditioned for a talent agency only because i was dragged by my friend who felt special that the talent scout spotted us.

    i know i have absolutely no acting ability at all but i just went for the life experience.

    i forget the acting terminology but we auditioned with a brief ad about tylenol.  it was pretty horrendous.  probably caricature-like proportions.  completely monotone.  completely expressionless.  it’s funny, i know what good and bad acting is but the actual execution of it really takes talent.  so alas i will have to stick to my day job.

  • you’re funny hahaha

  • Oh man…OUCH !  Yea, you’re right….gotta audition and do what “fits” you.

  • In regards to Mike2Cents, I don’t think it’s very professional to have a one on one setting, even if it was hooked up by the manager. Think of what that would look like if it was a female actress instead. Rather, I think the director made a great call but didn’t get what he wants. Also Parry, I don’t think that just because you were not right for the role means you lost the director’s respect. Any self respecting director knows that. My best friend and a very talented actor has not worked with me on 2 films, my last one and Gene Generation. This does not mean we are not best friends and hang out every weekend still, but it means that when he is right for the role, he will audition again.

    Congrats on Without a Trace. When Ashton Riordan Teo (my son) was a baby, I would watch that with him all the time. It was smacked right when his bedtime was coming up so he would just pass out and drool on my chest.

  • Wow, that Pacific Overtures audition sounds like a nightmare. Will you always get a role description / sides before you go to audition?

  • Can’t wait to see you on “Without a Trace,” the birthday thing was hilarous.

  • That’s awsome that you’ll be in “Without a Trace” I watch that show all the time. I’ll be keeping an eye out for your episode.

    I loved “Better Luck Tomorrow” and I hope to being seeing you all over the place in the near future.

  • RE: arkgoth

    “I don’t think it’s very professional to have a one on one setting, even if it was hooked up by the manager. Think of what that would look like if it was a female actress instead.”

    I was not suggesting a casting couch in some seedy motel. There are things called coffee shops. It is not unheard of in the industry and as a matter of fact often with bigger stars i.e. Ben Affleck, Nicole Kidman, etc., it would be impossible to get them to come in to read. The one-on-one is standard. IN this case where the director specifically asked to see Parry and Parry had specific reservations, calling for a one-on-one meeting would have been appropriate.

  • The Chinatown gang thing made me laugh…

    Good luck in Without a Trace.

  • I’m sure your rendition of HAPPY BIRTHDAY was great.

  • good luck on without a trace!

  • wow.. that’s uhm…. yeah.. happy birthday? you should just went with
    “twinkle, twinkle, little star”

  • Oh man!!! What an experience…I actually *like* singing and I still can’t go from one key to another on command. Haha…well you made it out alive — and a little wiser. :) Great story!!! Keem em’ coming ;)

  • ya just go punch your agent.

  • ok is Gene Generation, W/out a Trace movies or tv shows?– then what time & what channel is it on?  i just watched the Deviants & the Hazing, he was SO AWESOME, & surprisingly funn, too. hehe

  • its always learn when to exit gracefully..and when to pretend you are sick and dont make it to the stage..

  • parry, quick question – a friend of mine has a voice that would be great for cartoons – how does one get into voice work? any tips would help.

    peace.

  • uuhh…i just discovered that BLT was based on a true story!  i was traumatized by the real story.

  • Who likes my drawing of my girlfriend?

  • ** Save The Date **

    Critical Mass: 2005 Boston Asian Students Intercollegiate Conference
    Saturday, October 1st @ Tufts University
    http://www.bostonbasic.org

    ** See You There **

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *