August 11, 2010

  • My Audio book of “PETER RABBIT”

    As mentioned in the previous entry while researching stuff in audiophile-land, I constantly kept reading about one key component that I was missing… a pair of STUDIO MONITORS (a fancy term for speakers).  

    This entry from Paul Stamatiou is stellar in explaining why monitors are a necessity for editing: How to Upgrade to Studio Monitor Speakers

    Basically, if I were to just use my recording booth solely for auditions – a pair of studio earphones would be sufficient to make sure the audio was clear.  However, I have also been playing around with editing/sound effects with the SECRET IDENTITIES promo videos and discovered that without monitors, you will never hear the proper audio levels if you have several tracks.

    Monitors put out a ‘flat sound’ and normal speakers make audio sound their absolute best.  So if it sounds like junk when you originally mix it – with monitors you’ll immediately hear it and can correct it accordingly.

    Whereas with normal speakers — case in point in this SI video, around the 3:30 mark it’s really hard to hear poor Keith’s dialogue over the music.  And I didn’t know the mix wasn’t right until I basically showed it during a presentation and had to jack up the volume for the attendees.

    I wound up purchasing a pair of Rokit 6′s and watching/listening to stuff has been so much more enjoyable on my computer but now also I’m able to really hear the true audio mix.  So after I lay the audio down in the booth, I bring it all over to the desktop station with the monitors to edit the mix.

    The first project I officially got to use them was for my sister-in-law.  She’s a first grade teacher and asked if I could re-record the dated audiobook she had of “The Tale of Peter Rabbit“.  She needed the pace slowed down for her students to follow along, the read to be engaging, etc.  Not knowing I had this set-up, she gave me a cute ‘lil analog cassette tape to record it on (hee, hee).

    But as anyone who has seen the past SI videos knows — my favorite part is putting in the sound effects/music.  

    So here’s where the monitors played a vital component in making it fly.  As you can see, I’ve got 10 different audio tracks that I had to make sure didn’t overpower each other.  One track was for the book’s dialogue, one for ad-libs, one for the page-turn sounds, 3 for music, 2 for sound effects, etc (it kinda looks like a computer screencap from Star Trek:TNG).

    A lot of man hours went into this because I kept going back adding more and more stuff.  So I figured I might as well share it with you guys too if you have your own kids/nephews/nieces or friend’s with children that might be interested.  Plus since it includes music from GLEE, Taylor Swift, and James Horner — so there’s no way I can sell it!

    You can download the audio book here (The link will EXPIRE in seven days on AUG 18, 2010 – but if you still want it after that date, you can shoot me an email at: parryshenwebsite@yahoo.com and I can send you an updated link to download it.):http://www.yousendit.com/download/aHlTL0dGUnI5eFUwTVE9PQ

    The page turns are set to be read along with: The Tale of Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter – The Original and Authorized Edition – ISBN-10: 0 7232 4770 6.  You can get the book here for $4.00 (.01 + $3.99 shipping).

    The downloadable link will include 5 items:

    1 & 2) The version WITH page turns and its artwork.

    3 & 4) The version WITHOUT page turns and its artwork  

    5) CD artwork.  

    Avery and Kori were always listening to it when I first burned the copy for them and it’s pretty rewarding when they follow along with the book.  Their favorite part they kept repeating is the ad-libbed line, “Mmm, crunchy” and “Now, that’s a radish”.

    Anyways, tonight you can be off the hook for a bedtime story — enjoy!

Comments (3)

  • That sounds like a fun thing to do! I definitely understand what you mean about the amount of man hours that goes into this type of thing. You just want to keep on tweeking and tweeking.

  • Very cool stuff.  Your recent entries about your home recording studio have been helpful.  I record online training materials for my employer from home and we’ve definitely been doing it on the cheap.  I realize that the quality could be drastically improved by doing some simple things like finding a place to record that absorbs rather than reflects the noise.  Thanks for providing those suggestions.

  • Your articles support me a lot in all mediums of subjects.
    Clipmarks Bookmarking

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *